Langston University Digital Commons @ Langston University

Langston Letter

Archives

9-26-1972

The Langston Letter September 26 - October 1, 1972

Langston University

Follow this and additional works at: http://dclu.langston.edu/archives langston letter

Recommended Citation

Langston University, "The Langston Letter September 26 - October 1, 1972" (1972). Langston Letter. Paper 145. http://dclu.langston.edu/archives_langston_letter/145

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Archives at Digital Commons @ Langston University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Langston Letter by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ Langston University. For more information, please contact jblewis@langston.edu.

The-Langston Letter

PUBLIC RELATIONS DEPT. Langston, Oklahoma

SEPTEMBER 26- OCTOBER 1, 1972

TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 26, 19727:00 p.m.Seminar- Five College Program in Breaux Hall.

- WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 27, 1972 8:00 p.m. Movie
- FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 29, 1972 8:00 p.m. Social in Gymnasium
- SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 30, 1972 8:00 p.m. FOOTBALL GAME- Langston Lions vs Central State Bronchos in Anderson Stadium.
 - 10:30 p.m. Social after the Game in Gymnasium.
- SUNDAY, OCTOBER 1, 1972 10:00 a.m. Morning Medicions will be held in the Hargrove Music Hall.
- ITEMS OF INTEREST

Congratulations to Ruby Hardin! She has been elected Miss Langston University for the 1972-73 school year.

Congratulations is also extended to Raycene Brown, who is the 1972-73 Football Queen.

Class officers have been elected for each of the four classes.

The Freshmen class officers are Ezellmo Stephens, president; Steven Alexander, vice-president; Kathy Frazier, secretary; Nancy Davis, treasurer; and Saidu Sisay and Gwen Golf, student senate representatives.

Sophomore class officers are Keith Northington, president; Marvin Battle, fice-president; Beverly Huggins, secretary; Brenda Wooten, treasurer; and Simon Gracey and Martha Lee, student senate representatives. Junior class officers are Michael Allen, president; Ricardo Curtis, vice-president; Gwen Roland, secretary; Irma Hill, treasurer; and Clifton Haney and Renaye Tyce, student senate representatives.

Senior class officers are Frank Goff, president; Wilma Brooks, vice-president; Wilma Brooks, vice-president; Wilma Brooks, vice-president; Senior Senate representatives.

NATIONAL TEACHERS EXAMINATION

The National Teachers Examination will be administered on November 11, 1972, at Langston University.

According to Mr. Lester Clark, college seniors preparing to teach and teachers applying for positions in school systems which encourage or require the NTE, are eligible to take the test.

A Bullentin of Information, describing registration procedures and containing Registration Forms as well as sample test questions, may be obtained from Mrs. J. Grove, Room A15, Sanford Hall Annex.

SPORTS

Langston has played three football games. They have a 1-2 overall record and are 0-1 in conference play.

The Lions clawed Kentucky State Thoroughbreds with a score of 23-0. They then traveled to Jefferson City, Missouri where the Lincoln Tigers brushed pass the Lions with a score of 15-6. The Lions' third game took them to Lawton against the Cameron Aggies. Cameron took that contest with a score of 33-22.

UNIVERSITY COUNCIL

The University Council Members have been selected for the 1972-73 academic year.

The student members are Anthony Williams, Ezellmo Stephens, Keith Northington, Michael Allen, Frank Goff, James Morrow, Karen Washington, Brenda McKinney, Calvin Collins, Billie Hall, Mae Birch, Marsha Neal, Alex Hanna, Wilma Brooks, Glenda Jones, Brenda Buford, Essatta Reed, Clifford Cook, Beverly Morgan, Jolly Henderson, Simon Gracey, C. Coleman, Mark Lyons, Leora Cornelius, Judy Willis, Lorraine Parrimore, Richard Young, Roland Reynolds, Velma Farri, Cherie Boyd, Janice Williams, Sonya Carter, Janice Williams, Hubert Storr, Margaret Radford, Viola Nunn, Leonard Freeman, Theresa Curry, Brenda Wooten, Joyce Leach, Kennette Johnson, Lasing Lee, Cherry Davis, and Robert Hoskins.

The Faculty members of the University Council are Dr. W. L. Jones, Dr. B.G. Crowell, Dr. E. L. Holloway, Mr. J.A. Simpson, Mr. Eugene Pettis, Dr. E.E. Breaux, Dr. Jno. Coleman, Dr. J.R. Ellis, Dr. A. L. Fisher, Dr. Raymond Johnson, Mr. R.E. Kinnard, Dr. Steve Latimer, Dr. Robert Mack, Dr. James L. Mosley, Mrs. A.C. Parker, Dr. Algin Hurst, Mr. Mayaugh Sneed, Dr. L.C. Stephens, Dr. W. Willingham, Mrs. A.A. West, Mr. Glenn Gibson, Mr. R. Rodriguez, Dr. Sarah Thomas, Mr. Willis Brown, Dr. D.E. Gaffney, and Mr. E. L. Strong.